Job opportunity: Coder /game dev located in JHB

edited in General
Hi, not sure if this kind of recruitment is allowed on MakegamesSA, apologies in advance if this is the case.

I'd like to get someone on board for a VR project. Its a part time gig / flexi hours, and I can probably pay around R2000 a month. Unfortunately I don't have the time to devote myself to this project right now. The amount is based on what I can afford, and what kind of technical expertise I feel the job requires. I could be under balling this amount, and if so I apologize, but I'm not a coder / have no experience with the Oculus SDKs and building VR content so I had to pick an amount based on a best guess as to what the concept/mechanics of the VR project entails (see below).

Concept: Prototype of a Giant Bomb style community/game database with a more grass roots approach, in VR.
Mechanics: Full Head Tracking with Oculus Rift, with gesture recognition for head gestures (this already is utilized in one Rift demo I'm aware of), and hybrid controller scheme (simple nunchuk in one hand and hand recognition with Leap Motion controller in other) for interaction with environmental objects. That's it mechanics wise, there's no character movement in the world (its not a 'game' perse, more of a virtual space/future internet website).

As its a community / database focused place, there will be a lot of work required on the backend, so someone with experience in web design would be helpful but not a must at this point. Visual flare is also not major at this point, as long as the design is functional and not nausea / headache inducing.

Thanks for reading. Feel free to P.M me or reply with any questions/comments throughout the day.

Comments