How to keep interest in a web game

edited in General
Hi all, I posted my first one-day project here about a month ago, a very simple grappling hook infinite runner called Arc Length. I made it just as a personal challenge and didn't really expect much from it. Passing that around my social group (mostly facebook) I managed to get 144 views from friends and the [biased] response was quite good.

When I had more time, as I am currently studying mechanical engineering, I polished the game a bit and uploaded it to Wooglie.com to see if I could get 144 people I did NOT know to play it. It has vastly superseded my expectations, as of posting this it has 7122 hits since Monday which is massive by my own standards. I'm pretty sure a majority of that traffic was gained through the webgames subreddit and the community there has been very supportive.

As with all things, the traffic is slowing down and although I don't really aim to make any money on this, I would really like to see how far it can go. But as I have done nothing like this before I honestly have no clue about how to promote it further.

I have been doing some research and all advice I can find about marketing indie games seems to be focussed on bigger projects, such as press kits and press releases to get reviews, development blogs, landing pages etc, so I'm not too sure how relevant that all is to a simple and relatively small web game.

Does anyone here know much about promoting and marketing smaller games?

Any advice would be really appreciated.

If you'd like to check the game you can find it on Wooglie.com or follow this link:
http://www.wooglie.com/games/Arcade/Arc-Length

Comments