Make Games Competitions in 2015 (?)

The question I want to ask is: "What are the plans for Make Games competitions in 2015, if any."

A little bit of a preamble: When I was an freshly minted amateur game developer (aspiring towards a career in game development) I came across the Game.Dev forums that were hosted by NAG. I met a really rad bunch of people there, many of which I consider dear friends today, but what I was really confronted by was a culture of making things together and collaborative learning. This was most evident in the monthly competitions held at Game.Dev, where people would be working on a common goal (albeit in competition) and so really be able to learn from each other. For a while I believe this fostered a really positive creator culture and accelerated the skillsets of some of developers who came out of that (including my own).

I mention this just to motivate why I'm particularly fond of local competitions when held in a community like this.

But I know running competitions takes a TON of time, and often is kind of thankless work (or at least, the time investment is disproportionate to the thanks).

I'd like to offer some of my time this year, if I can help, to having some competitions.

So:

What are the plans for Make Games competitions in 2015, if any.

And:

What does the community feel about competitions? (I'm sure not everyone sees them like me).

Comments

• I love competitions. The constraints that they impose always help me finish something unlike the open ended "I'm learning" project. Collaborating, another win as you get to meet and work with more devs.

I'd also like to say that I'd also be willing to give my time to help in organising competitions.