GDC Tips and Tricks

edited in Events
I would call this “How to GDC” but people go to GDC for different reasons. Going from this a brief introduction, even though I’m fairly sure everyone going knows me already.

Hi I’m Julian, I’m an independent videogame developer. I’ve been going to GDC for the past three years with this being my fourth. It’s slightly hard to explain why I go. Initially it was to try and absorb vast quantities of knowledge by going to talks and being inspired to go out and create things. These days it’s more of going and hanging out with really cool devs from other places and learning new things.

If what I’ve described sounds kinda like why you are going, or want to, then I hope you can find some useful info below.

Meet your new best friend

(I know it's a giant picture, but twitter is THAT important!)

Twitter is you new best friend and number one tool for GDC. It’s how you’ll find where to get lunch, what is going on at night and just about anything else that is happening. Have you ever heard that twitter is the most useful tool for outreach as a dev? It is, and it’s four times more useful than normal while at GDC. Be prepared to follow a lot of new people.

Most people prefer to use their face at their twitter avatar come GDC to make themselves easier to identify from the internet. Personally I don't change my twitter avatar and use my Biz-card with my logo on to help people make the connection between internet me and RL me.

Twitter uses internet, not carrier pigeons

It’s all well and good saying that you need twitter, but you need some way to get onto it. Personally I suggest grabbing a T-Mobile 1 month plan for $50, it’s a bit more on the upside, but it comes with unlimited calls, sms, and internet (you get 1GB or so of 4G, and then unlimited 2G,) there is some SIM card costs and taxes, so overall it’s going to run you around $60, but it’s a good investment.

Share your info