Musical Scale Game

Hi everyone.
Just to let the community know I'm busy with a game to make practicing scales fun - I'm a music teacher, and I always find practicing scales boring.

I'm using Unity to make it a 2D app for Android (at this stage).
Basic idea is that you select a scale to practice (or go through levels increasing in difficulty), then you play the scale and the game gives you a score based on how many notes were correct, tuning, speed, etc. If your score is too low, you don't pass that level. If you get a high enough score, you get a reward (still figuring out what the reward will be).

I've found other scale apps on Play Store, but none that can tell you if what you're playing is correct or not, which will be my main feature.
I've already created a basic prototype that can display the scale and also figure out what note you're playing from the audio input, check if they're the same or not, and give out points. Will be testing with instruments soon, then will upload a video to show you.

Biggest challenge by far: pitch recognition - using unity's GetSpectrumData (Fast Fourier Transform, so at least I didn't have to write my own FFT algorithm). It's really not as simple as "the strongest frequency is the note", as lots of people on forums spit out. Particularly when using a small microphone, that doesn't pick up low frequencies so well (I've been testing with the built-in laptop microphone, comparing with a studio microphone). Way more complex, and I'd love to get into it if anyone is interested. Sound techies and programmers out there?

I'm quite new to game making, and graphics are not my skill at all, so I may be looking for some help (even paid help) to make the game look awesome and marketable.

That's all for now.

Comments

• Sounds great. I love games that are educational and fun at the same time :)
  • Oh man. I always hated practising scales.