[Event] Windows 8 Game Jam - 31 May 2013

edited in Events
When: 19:00, Friday, 31 May -2 June 2013
Where: Microsoft Campus Bryanston, 3012 William Nicol Drive, Bryanston, Johannesburg

What: Make games targeting the Windows 8 and/or Windows Phone 8 platform using C++ DirectX, Unity3D, Game Maker or XNA.

FYI, the Unity3D Windows 8 add-on by registering for the open Beta Program http://unity3d.com/beta/windowsstoreapps

Read more here http://blogs.unity3d.com/2013/03/27/unity-4-beta-program-for-windows-phone-apps/
Thanked by 2hanli Bensonance

Comments

• And the support for Game Maker being? Just make it in Game Maker and wait for the compiler... Or is there already one?

(I would Google it except Google isn't working on my Chrome. True story. WTF is going on...)
  • You can already built for Windows Phone 8 with GM
  • Good stuff :)
  • I'm quite new to this, what exactly happens? Do we stay over? Do we bring our own pcs? Our own food? I'm completely clueless.
  • No you don't stay over, the office closes around 23:00 and reopens around 8:00.

Yes, you bring your own PC and any equipment you want. Closer to the time there will be an opportunity to register (free) for an Internet connection for the time you're there.

Yes, you will need to feed yourself. There's coffee and water on offer and normally groups of people go out for lunch and dinner to one of the restaurants in the area.
  • Would we need a Windows Store developer account ? Or can we just prove that the game can run in windows 8 ?
  • edited
    Same weekend as Kin-kon, sadly so I'll have to give it a skip.
  • No, you won't need a Windows Store account and our gracious host is going to try and organise some Windows 8 phones and tablets for people to deploy to.
  • Another question. May we use construct 2 https://www.scirra.com/
  • I don't see why not :)
  • Awesome.

On a side note do you work at Microsoft ?
    Cause ive seen that most of the meetups and events is at their offices.