Unity - Alternatives & 2D

edited in Questions and Answers
Hello everybody!

I'm new to Unity... poked around a bit and I'm quite impressed with the interface and engine. My prior experience comes from using flash (yuck), and just plain coding using mostly C++ with OpenGL, Direct3D as well as Ogre as a rendering library among other API's.

So, what I want to question is the aparent popularity of Unity around here - well... why Unity? Is it better than alternatives? I've read up and heard good things about other engines and packages, such as Torque3D, C4 and Panda3D, among others... how does Unity measure up against these tools?

And what about the tools provided by Unity? Are they limiting in any way, or have people encountered limitations? Although I'm not really keen on doing things the hard way, I choose that any day to cutting corners at the expense of understanding or having to "hack" around a tool a bit. I can become very frustrated by excess abstraction and loss of control... I guess I'm a bit stubborn like that, and it's what made me want to gouge my eyes out in flash sometimes. That, and actionscript 3 being an absolutely horrendous multi-paradigm "design" effort.

Panda3D sounds great in a way because besides leveraging the strengths of both C++ as a core and Python bindings, the project is open source. Unity would not allow something like that, but would I ever really need to leverage that?

And finally... (sorry for the drawn out post) ... how good is Unity really for doing 2D content? I know it can be done but is it a good tool for that job? Seems to me like most aspects of the engine are 3D, and therefore I know 2D can be crafted as a special case of that, is it not perhaps overkill to do so?

Comments

• Why Unity: make one game deploy to everything.

Can you do 2D in Unity? Yes Desktop Dungeons <insert magical @dislekcia talking about DD an Unity.>

2D alternatives: there are lots. Game maker studio even has the cross-platform thing these days.

---